Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

James Fowler’s Stage of Faith.

1 Comment

James Fowler’s Stages Of Faith explanation;


Stage 1
Intuitive-Projective This is the stage of preschool children in which fantasy and reality often get mixed together. However, during this stage, our most basic ideas about God are usually picked up from our parents and/or society.

Stage 2
Mythic-Literal When children become school-age, they start understanding the world in more logical ways. They generally accept the stories told to them by their faith community but tend to understand them in very literal ways. [A few people remain in this stage through adulthood.]

Stage 3
Most people move on to this stage as teenagers. At this point, their life has grown to include several different social circles and there is a need to pull it all together. When this happens, a person usually adopts some sort of all-encompassing belief system. However, at this stage, people tend to have a hard time seeing outside their box and don’t recognize that they are “inside” a belief system. At this stage, authority is usually placed in individuals or groups that represent one’s beliefs. [This is the stage in which many people remain.]

Stage 4
This is the tough stage, often begun in young adulthood, when people start seeing outside the box and realizing that there are other “boxes”. They begin to critically examine their beliefs on their own and often become disillusioned with their former faith.

Ironically, the Stage 3 people usually think that Stage 4 people have become “backsliders” when in reality they have actually moved forward.

Stage 5
Conjunctive Faith
It is rare for people to reach this stage before mid-life. This is the point when people begin to realize the limits of logic and start to accept the paradoxes in life. They begin to see life as a mystery and often return to sacred stories and symbols but this time without being stuck in a theological box.

Stage 6
Universalizing Faith
Few people reach this stage. Those who do live their lives to the full in service of others without any real worries or doubts.

This is what was explained to me, and how most people remain at stage 3, which is an adolescent stage and why I have often thought to myself ‘are we in High School’ when dealing with these immature Christians.

And how they questions my faith and wisdom, because as explained above – the stage 3 people, often think stage 4 people have going backwards in their faith, when in fact the stage 4 people have progressed.

My counsellor has identified I am in stage 4, going into stage 5, and this is why so many Christians don’t and won’t understand where I am at, due to their own immaturity of faith.

And this is why I picked up on so many reasons why a Church are stuck in stage 3, led by spiritually immature leaders with narc traits and seeing me as the enemy and attacking me, because I exposed their leader and challenged their immature and almost cult-like beliefs, their need to adhere to the Church doctrine and not challenging this themselves, their desire to be a mindless sheep and not challenge themselves, which is all sin.

So much became clear once I understood this.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle. ~ Lilly Hope Lucario

One thought on “James Fowler’s Stage of Faith.