Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

PTSD affects short term memory.


Post Traumatic Stress Disorder affects short term memory.

I can remember so many memories I don’t want to remember. *sigh.

My brain also files away every ‘weird’, ‘potentially dangerous’, ‘off’, ‘strange’ conversation, situation etc that I have with people. They are often triggered and I am amazed at what I remember, where we were, what the person was wearing, who was around….

Yet, I frequently forget things that my PTSD brain does not consider an issue. My mobile is full of daily reminders.

The PTSD brain, is programmed to consider potential danger as the priority, because it already knows life threatening, severe trauma.

The PTSD brain also has sensitivity to processing noise, light, visual activity, smell etc and stress.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

9 thoughts on “PTSD affects short term memory.

  1. I love the cartoon. It is SO true.
    Great post. 😉

  2. This is soooooo true! It is so tiring to hear how bad your memory is and to have people constantly ask you over and over, “Do you remember that?” The truth is I don’t remember what I ate this morning or where I left my phone or anything about some movie we watched…once I was looking for my phone and a coworker found it in a file filed in the filing cabinet. What I do remember is waking up from night sweats lol That cartoon would make a great name tag🙂

  3. I have not been diagnosed with anything, but I have experienced complex trauma and I do have the memory loss. I never thought about it in these terms, that the brain is busy processing other issues, i.e. the trauma. I love the cartoon as well, very cute. The upside is, the brain can heal, the brain will heal.

  4. Pingback: PTSD affects short term memory. | Learning Outside The Box

  5. Oooooohhhhh!!!! I didn’t know that! That makes so much sense!!! I constantly sit and wait for something to happen and I thought I just wasn’t paying attention to other stuff and that was why I was forgetting! And I had no idea why I ‘glitch’ out when things get really loud and busy!! Thank you sooooooo much! You once again answered a question I didn’t know I had! God bless you my sister!!

  6. Reading your post has made me wonder if I could be suffering from pstd as my short term memory is really bad I am always forgetting day to day things but can remeber the little things I want to forget in my past also my concentration is that bad that I cant even enjoy watching a film because I lose track of it or I can watch it and not remember a thing about it if people ask me its got that bad I have given up on watching tv it just doesnt sink in and can get fustrating iv only just noticed now how bad it is .I have been diagnosed as having depression and anxiety and have been on mirtazapine for the last 3 years and have attempted to come of them at least 3 times and failed not sure what to do next:/

    • The main symptom of PTSD that needs to be occurring – is involuntary re-experiencing of trauma – ie flashbacks, nightmares or unwanted intrusive thoughts. There are also other symptoms that need to be occurring.
      Short term memory issues are common with PTSD – although they are not often spoken about, so I highlight them to help others realise some of their symptoms not often associated with PTSD – are trauma/PTSD related.
      Have a look at my Website – to see more about PTSD, if you feel you may have it.
      You can see a link to my Website in the menu at the top of this blog.❤

Leave a Reply

