Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Inner Child Healing – in a ‘safe’ environment, is definitely needed for my healing.

Leave a comment


Even though there are some things I am avoiding at the moment, the good part has been the inner child healing I have been able to focus on over the last few weeks. It has been good timing with my 5 year old home for the school holidays. We have played a lot with the tree house I bought us and enjoyed children’s craft. And while I am ‘playing’, I am not zoned out, to the extent I get to, whenever the thoughts about all the trauma processing come into my head.

I don’t think this is mindfulness, because I am really not skilled at mindfulness. I think it is just good old 100% PTSD avoidance. But, it is interesting, that while avoiding, I have used the time, to focus on healthy, healing needs, so that’s progress.

I feel drawn to this inner child healing, playing and allowing myself, to experience, things I didn’t have when I was a child.

And more importantly in a ‘safe’ environment.

This I realised today, is the vital, key part of this. I do feel safe, doing this at home, either with my child, or by myself. I know having read about inner child healing – addressing the ‘safe’ need, is one of the most important steps.

In my childhood, I was never allowed to be a child and I was never safe, so to create a safe environment, for my inner child – is addressing my profoundly unmet childhood needs.

I also think about and talk to Jesus, and feel His presence, which I never felt as a child. This helps create that safety and love I didn’t have too.

I have white shelving units in my hallway area, that currently hold books, some of my scrapbooking and crafty things I have previously made and feminine stuff. As I live in a house full of males, I have my ‘girlie’ area. I have decided to dedicate that area to my inner child. It can display the girlie things I make and sit my cute rag doll there, plus teddy’s I have collected. I’m going to move the books and just have it as girlie stuff. I’m going to put a pic of me as a child, in a frame and have that there too.

I realise, my inner child, is not one age, I have a hurt inner young child, child aged 10/11 ‘ish and a teenager – all were very alone, very abused, very neglected. I want to experience some good things I never had at these ages, and to be safe.

It had been interesting starting to do a little research about the ‘Inner Child’. How this psychology understanding, first originated through Carl Jung and has become a recognised psychology therapy approach to healing from child abuse.


I have noted that John Bradshaw (a Christian) and has produced extensive work regarding Inner Child work and I have Kindle downloaded his book ‘HOMECOMING: Reclaiming & Healing Your Inner Child’, which I am going to start reading tonight.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.



Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

