Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Poem ~ Yes, My Eyes Seem Distant ~ Lilly Hope Lucario



Yes, my eyes seem distant

I am no longer present

I have gone away

To my safe place


A place of love and integrity

Where I smile and laugh freely

Where my soul is nourished

Where I am accepted


Where I am held


Without selfish intent

No lies occur there


No shattered hearts

No betrayal

No harm comes to bear

No malice lives there


Yes, my eyes are distant

I seem so far away

My world within my mind

Is my safe place


Love abounds there

Love not found elsewhere

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

© Copyright Protected

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved.

No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, screenshots, copying & pasting, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods.

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.

I read somewhere (and now I can’t find the link which is annoying)… that this ability to create a safe place in one’s mind with which to retreat and feel safe…. is considered high functioning dissociation. It is not pathological dissociation and is a healthy coping strategy, when feeling overwhelmed, as long as it can be controlled and managed.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

4 thoughts on “Poem ~ Yes, My Eyes Seem Distant ~ Lilly Hope Lucario

  1. Beautiful! So important to have safe places in our mind even if the world doesn’t feel like it most of the time. Thank you for sharing🙂

  2. It is definitely healthy. When my therapist met me she couldn’t believe the ways in which I had created systems to cope. I love this poem. I go away a lot too.

  3. This is so beautiful Lily and I think very healthy no matter what labels folks put on it. Everyone needs a safe place to go , no matter where it is or if it is real or not , key word is SAFE!

Leave a Reply

