Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

In the ‘ACT’ stage of my therapy. Reflections.

Leave a comment

I’ve read a fair bit about Acceptance & Commitment Therapy – known as ACT, and I know I am in that stage of healing/therapy. This has become especially clear reading ‘The Happiness Trap’ book. The book is based upon ACT therapy and I see as I am reading through it, how I am well and truly in this stage.

I am still grieving. I have accepted my past in it’s full and painful entirety and how I can manage the consequences of it. I know I will grieve for a long time and it will lesson over time.

ACT therapy, as defined in this book, is to achieve 2 main goals.

  1. Effectively handle painful thoughts and emotions.
  2. Create a rich, full and meaningful life.


I know my counsellor has stated several times recently, how I am able to discuss my past trauma and the timeline of events etc, in a really coherent way. This is due to my acceptance of my trauma history and having processed it to the point where I can speak about it coherently now and without emotions becoming overwhelming. I am able to more effectively manage painful thoughts, emotions, along with triggers etc.

I am working on creating a meaningful life, as this is important to me. My life is being shaped within the integrity of my core values, my integrity to what I feel is meaningful and removing what is not. 

No longer do I feel any need to ‘fit in’ within unhealthy environments/people.

No longer do I tolerate anything that does not sit well with my soul and I do protect my soul, my wellbeing, my heart, my healing. Boundaries and balance are increasing. I increasingly do not allow myself to personalise the issues of others and know I am not responsible for them. I accept (other than guiding my children) I am responsible only for my own mind, behaviours, motivations, reactions etc.

No longer do I care about issues such as image, outer appearance, money, status, material items, fashion etc. I have matured past all that. I accepted the growth and maturity needed. I embraced it fully.

I accept my rightful and normal emotions and stay mindful of the need for them, but to manage them. I ‘avoid’ my emotions less, and I am overwhelmed by them less. I manage them better.

I know I am interested in humanitarian, volunteering, social justice, advocacy. These are ways that impact/help society in a positive and needed way. These are meaningful pursuits. But, I am aware of my limitations health/healing wise, impacting this and I am accepting of that.

I also know I need joyful activities that nourish and soothe my soul, like gardening, getting connected with nature, hydrotherapy.

There are many other areas of ACT I identify with, and I realise this is all heading in the right direction and is due to my willingness and need to seek wisdom, learn, grow, mature, heal.

I’m okay with where I am at and how my journey is progressing.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

