Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

I’m no longer an idealist, not a pessimist or an optimist…. I am a realist.


My search and need for truth and rational thinking…. has led me down paths of idealism, pessimism, optimism and eventually to realism.

All the other three, have levels of distorted thinking, I can no longer accept, or tolerate. The other three, are often simply ways of coping, without dealing with reality. Reality is not pleasant in many ways, and people don’t like to accept it… about self, or others.

People often assume realists are pessimists. Usually the eternally optimistic, ever positive types ….. who avoid reality, to keep their lives comfortable.

I see the pitfalls in being positive all the time. It becomes a way to view the world through rose coloured glasses. Minimize suffering. Avoid…. the list of cognitive distortions goes on.

Pessimism, well that is simply more cognitive distortions.

Being a realist, is about having the courage, integrity and clear thinking required to deal with reality. Without the need to self soothe with distorted thinking to self serve and comfort self. Without the irrational belief that everything will be okay as long as I keep being positive. No, not everything will be okay. That’s reality.

I am a realist when it comes to humanity. My life and journey, have led me to this point. Plus my willingness for introspection and my vigilance and discernment.

I also realistically know, this is not common.

This quote made me giggle.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

3 thoughts on “I’m no longer an idealist, not a pessimist or an optimist…. I am a realist.

  1. I love the quote! 🙂 That would be how I view life now. Thank you again for your bravery in sharing your healing journey!🙂

  2. Thank you for writing this. I shared it on Facebook. It’s dead on and comforting to see someone else thinks like me. Ty

  3. I’m glad this was helpful for you both🙂❤❤

Leave a Reply

