Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

First world problems….

Leave a comment

I’ve been to two third world countries and I am thankful for the experience of seeing how poor people really live. It is something everyone should do, early on in life. Maybe it would make a difference in how consumed people get with their ‘1st world ‘problems’.

I’ve seen people living in shacks. Living with no running water etc. It is something that has stayed with me and I have not forgotten.

I’m not referring to issues in life like abuse, child abuse and their effects. They are problems experienced throughout the world.

I’m referring to 1st world problems like complaining about internet speed, needing the latest iPhone and all manner of shallow materialistic and consumerism issues. Plus issues relating to image, vanity, size of house, car, bank balance, career…. the list is endless.

Something I noticed when speaking with people living in 3rd world countries, is how they often seem happier, more content, more grateful for any kind of help. They often have more kindness in their hearts, than many in the 1st world.

I truly believe the more most people have, the more destructive it is to the heart and soul. It plays into ego, vanity, greed, pride etc. It pushes people to tap into their dark needs/sides and yet is justified continually.

I intend volunteering abroad, health permitting, when my children are older. I want to volunteer in Nepal, and if that works out, I’ll volunteer with decent orphanages and street kids.

I believe everyone needs to not minimize severe life issues like abuse, domestic violence, serious health issues. But so much else viewed in 1st world countries, viewed as sooooo important – really isn’t.

I keep mindful of this.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

