Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Nearly had a car crash today… but remained very calm.


Driving to the city is something I have avoided in 10 years of living in my current location. Anxiety had always prevented me. But, last week I ventured and today I drove with a friend.

Today, I was anxious and missed a turning and ended up going through the city, which I did not like or feel comfortable with. My friend was lovely and was helping me with directions.

I ran a red light accidently, and it nearly ended in a car crash. My friend was clearly shaken and I felt worse for her than myself. I felt terrible. It was entirely because I was talking, whilst trying to look at the GPS and not concentrating enough on the road. I apologised and my friend was very gracious and we ended up laughing about it later. I was thankful for that. Humour always helps.

I actually remained very calm throughout the situation and was able to continue driving, which shows my capacity for remaining calm and managing anxiety, even in potentially life endangering situations. Only a few minutes after this near car crash, I was chatting and talking calmly to the people we were meeting. And then drove all the way home.

I realise that even 6 months ago, I would have fallen apart, been unable to drive and either needed my friend to continue driving, or phone my husband in tears to come and get me.

I was remarkably calm and I realise that is a first in my entire life, to cope so calmly in a high stress situation ….. that wasn’t dissociation. I know the difference between dissociation…. and calmness.

I see the huge progress in my healing, within this situation.

I would much rather this had not happened and so very glad the situation did not result in anyone hurt. But I was glad to see my progress. I also know to concentrate more on the road! No chatting!

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “Nearly had a car crash today… but remained very calm.

  1. That is awesome it didn’t end in dissociation. And that you recognized this. It’s definitely a good sign. You kept calm and we’re great. Xo

Leave a Reply

