Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Love people with integrity to decent virtues, good character and compassion.

Leave a comment


Sadly where I live, racism and homophobia are commonly and overtly displayed, by too many people. It never fails to shock me. Their lack of insight into their views and how distorted they are, is the saddest part. And how people can be so cruel, so willing to hurt others. And hurt people who are not by default ‘bad’ ‘unworthy’ – just because they are gay, non white, a different religion, are asylum seekers …. etc.

There is a sense of entitlement pervading many in Australia, that just because someone is born in a safe country, they ‘deserve’ to be there and others don’t. And that sense of entitlement, is narcissism.

I was born in Australia, and I don’t believe I deserve to be here and receive all Australia’s privileges, more than asylum seekers who are fleeing war torn/unsafe countries.

But then I am not narcissistic. I see people as human beings. I see their children and all their trauma and my heart hurts for them. I imagine how I would feel if that was me, with my children and I have the empathy to put myself in their shoes.

Sadly, a lot of people lack this capacity for empathy and compassion. I know being sexist and misogynistic are harmful and narcissistic. I know being LGBT does not mean ‘bad’. People become ‘bad’ by their actions and how they treat others. But, those who are racist, homophobic, misogynistic etc…. are the least likely to ‘hear’ this, or have self insight.

So, whenever I do see people, organisations etc acting with good character, good virtues and integrity to that…… it makes my heart smile. And I am so thankful and I let them know.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

