Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Rational thinking, self honesty and deep thought…. seems so hard for so many.


I’m a realist. I accept humanity finds self insight, self honesty hard, and cognitive distortions easy. It requires a lot less thought, a lot less honesty.

People justify their issues, views, no matter how irrational…. anyway they can.

It’s easier to hold on to irrational views…. than have the courage to face it and consider the irrationality. Harder to face the truth. In fact, most people don’t even think about whether their thinking is rational, or unhealthy. They automatically assume it is healthy.

I learned young how people can have very unhealthy thinking. I challenged my own. Courage, discernment, depth of thinking capacity are required for this.

‘Karma’ is one clear example of irrational thinking. I studied Buddhism in my later 20’s, and I knew then it was irrational to believe in karma, reincarnation etc. There is no rational thinking about karma. It is magical thinking. A cognitive distortion. I have the psychology understanding to put to what I worked out myself over 15 years ago. But, so many people believe it to be true.

Just because you want to believe something, does not make it true.

But, that is the reality for so many people. And sadly, a lot of people want karma to exist and cling onto it, because they want bad to happen back to people (revenge issues) and good to happen if good is done. Rather than just doing good, because it’s the right thing to do. They want something in return for the good they do, which is narcissism. And because ‘karma’ makes them not have to fight for social justice. It lets them off the hook. If they can pretend to themselves that karma will deal with it for them….. they can choose to do nothing.

Rational thinking, empathy, self honesty…….. seem to be the hardest issues for humanity to comprehend.

Which is sad, because there is no growth, no maturity without it.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

5 thoughts on “Rational thinking, self honesty and deep thought…. seems so hard for so many.

  1. THE LIGHT BULB GOES OFF AGAIN…Since I have been studying narcissism for 4 years now…memories of the things my sister has said to me ……the dots connect. She once said to me “YOU LOOK LIKE YOU HAVE CANCER ” i was so hurt , for years…Last year when I told her I had a miscarriage several years ago ….she Snickered, grinned and said, ‘OH I THOUGHT YOU HAD AN ABORTION'” AND LAUGHED. Now I realize, WHat kind of person would say such things ! A malicious narc. Evil at its best.

  2. Just reading your first sentence is so healing for me.”” Narcissistic people are very abusive and covertly so. “”
    I am going to write it down and keep it w/ me. “

  3. It is no accident that I found this website….My guardian angel sent you to me. !

  4. ISAEH 54:17 ” No Weapon Formed Against You Will Prosper “

Leave a Reply

