Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

I love Australia for many reasons, but I don’t love….

Leave a comment

I was born here in this beautiful country of Australia. I love the weather, the outdoor lifestyle, the beauty of the land, and many other wonderful Australian delights.

What I do not love are the all too often overt prejudices (racism, homophobia, misogyny etc), I see flaunted continually. I do not like what is behind this – lack of empathy, lack of conscience, lack of compassion, narcissism, entitlement and really shallow thought processes.

I do not like the cruelty Australia is enabling to asylum seekers.

I do not like the deeply widespread issues of domestic violence and child abuse.

I do not like the so called Christians promoting/enabling/encouraging all this.

Australia is really stuck in a time warp. And I don’t have to like any of this, or ignore it, or avoid it. I’m not selfish and I don’t believe in apathy. I have too much integrity, empathy and courage for that.

I do promote what I like, what I believe society needs and I do encourage this through my words and actions. But, I will also speak up against the harmful issues I see promoted everywhere and in such an overt way.

The Christian issues within all this, bother me greatly. Being a Christian is not pew warming on Sundays, throwing Bible quotes about, misinterpreting them out of context (as many church people do), self serving little cliques, wearing a cross around your neck, defending/excusing/protecting abusers/offenders, whilst abusing anyone not heterosexual, or the continual and widespread issue of cheap grace. It’s not about all that immature religious BS.

I believe being a Christian is about standing up for the marginalised, the oppressed, the abused, the harmed, people in need, those hurt by all this prejudice, throughout society and the world.

Australia has it’s gifts, but it also has it’s deeply rooted issues. I see the reality of that, and it ain’t pretty.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

