Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Not going to say too much, too soon, at the new counselling.


I am aware in order to figure out someone’s heart, soul, mind, attitude etc…. you have to get to know them. Only then can you ascertain a fuller picture of someone. I don’t intend giving away too much of my own psychology/PTSD/Complex PTSD understanding and insight, or talk about this blog, my website etc, too soon. Not because I want to keep that from the new psychologist, but because I want to get to know her and what she’s about.

I realise I need a very insightful, very mature, very experienced, honest person….. who has very rational thinking. And I will work out whether she does. Over time. And if she does have thinking different to mine, that’s okay depending on what it is, and the motivation and heart behind it. I will pick up on all that too.

I remember my first counsellor explaining to me in any new relationship, to take it slowly as in what I speak about, not reveal too much of who I am, and know whether you can have a level of trust in someone, slowly and carefully. I listened to that advice, because it was very good advice. I needed that advice.

At what point I tell her about this blog and website, I don’t know. If the counselling continues, I will give her the links if she wants them, because it will inform her of how much I do know, where I am at, my history etc. It will be interesting to see her reaction to seeing what I have achieved so far in my own healing, educating myself, and the opinions of the professionals around the world, who support me.

But, slowly I definitely will be taking it all.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

4 thoughts on “Not going to say too much, too soon, at the new counselling.

  1. Trust is a HUGE issue for me, and took awhile to trust my current therapist (of 6 years). I still hold onto truly personal things, so not 100% trusting. I’ve been that way all of my life since I was abused at 6, no wonder I didn’t have many friends, always wary of trust and fear of revealing something I would regret later. Maybe I’m too cautious, but once trust is broken by adults when you are children, for me anyways, it’s difficult to recover.

    • I understand the trust issues. Trust in someone I need to discuss trauma with and discuss very personal, painful things with, is vital. And that is normal. Without trust, I don’t feel safe and then I won’t share what needs to be shared.

      I’m okay now with knowing I don’t need to be able to trust friends with everything in my life. In fact I don’t share my journey with friends anymore. I’ve learned not to, for various reasons. Friends need to meet certain standards in their character traits, need to be nice people, and I let them be who they are and maintain appropriate boundaries.

      It’s been a huge learning curve for me over the last 3 years.

      I’m a very different person now, due to how much I have worked on myself.

Leave a Reply

