Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

The kindness of strangers, was sometimes all I had.


kindness strangers

I’ve sometimes received more kindness from strangers in my life, than from those known/close to me. In fact, there are times in my life where the kindness of strangers, is all the kindness I received.

I always smile at strangers. I may be the only person who smiles at them that day. And I know how that feels. I sometimes strike up conversations with strangers, depending on whether it feels safe.

I believe in helping strangers, not just those close to you. It’s why I volunteer and donate. I’ve donated all my adult life to charities, even when I couldn’t really afford to. I give things away to strangers, because they need help and may not have help or love anywhere else. I know how that feels. I help people online, even though I have no idea who they are.

I think when you’ve been someone who has known true absolute aloneness, known a horrific long term abusive captivity situation, where you have no connection to anyone except an abuser, you learn what true aloneness is. You understand the value of a smile and passing hello from a stranger. And how much you appreciated it, more than they would ever know.

I believe in the kindness of strangers.

I know the need for the kindness of strangers.

So, I try to be kindness, for strangers.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

4 thoughts on “The kindness of strangers, was sometimes all I had.

  1. I can relate to this very much, as I have no friends or family in my life. I’m always shocked when someone sees me enough to say hello, instead of being invisible all the time.

    • I understand how you are feeling Naomi. I have no family and I’ve had times where I’ve had absolutely no one for a period of years.

      No-one can understand it, unless they’ve experienced it.

      Please know, you are always welcome here on this blog to comment and be included, if that helps in any small way at all.

      Much love, Lilly❤

      • Thank you. It does help in so many ways. It helps me to understand that I’m not alone & that my feelings are very real.
        I to know what it’s like to have no one in your life for years. My best friend passed away 7yrs ago. I’ve not had that kind of friend, that I could really trust, since then.
        Your post have become a comfort & helped me to understand so much about myself. (((HUGS))) ♥

      • I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend Naomi. I am sure you must miss your friend so much and I can imagine how that feels.

        Your emotions are very real, very normal and I understand.

        I’m glad if anything comforts you in any way.

        You are so welcome here. Warm, safe ((((hugs)))) to you too.

Leave a Reply

