Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

The narcissist and feigning innocence, acting dumb….


Narcissists employ a whole range of deceptive tactics. Feigning innocence, is one of many.

They will intentionally do wrong in a covert and manipulative manner, and then ask ‘have I done something wrong?’. They know exactly what they have done wrong… but will act like they have done nothing. And then if you confront them, they will lie, deny and tell you – you are the problem. It becomes gas lighting.

When I know I am dealing with narcissistic people (which I am and I have blocked her from my social media), I can read them like a book. Having lived with narcissistic people throughout my childhood and having to learn all their tactics to survive, I am vigilant and adept at seeing them in action.

Strong boundaries are always needed, because highly narcissistic people, do not change. They are dishonest and selfish to their core. I do not play along with their games.

Dr. George Simon has excellent info and books, regarding these highly disordered people.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

6 thoughts on “The narcissist and feigning innocence, acting dumb….

  1. You are right on! I lived with a narcissist for 20 years who likely borders on being a sociopath. When he did something wrong it was my fault. I wasn’t skinny enough or friendly enough. Etc. When he sexual abused my daughter, he didn’t necessarily convince people he didn’t do it but convinced them why he shouldn’t be punished! They fell for it and here’s the kicker! I wound up going to jail and did nothing wrong! They are dangerous people and I stay FAR away from him.

    • I am so sorry this all happened and you and your daughter endured all this terrible abuse. No-one should ever endure this.

      Sadly, these narcissistic/sociopathic/psychopathic people exist in greater numbers than many realise and they cause great harm.

      I do understand the damage they cause and that is validated here.


  2. Oh my daughter, son and I have all gone through therapy and have been healed, so he lost!

    • I am thankful your children have all had the needed and deserved therapy and are healing.

      Many abusers will remain locked in their darkness and not change, as their personality disordered issues are far too ingrained and they see no need to change.

      But, their victims who survive their abuse, can heal and it can take a long time for some, but that’s okay.

      • You are right. Sometimes it takes some longer. But in the end, his arrogance landed him in jail for having sex with a 16 year old. He’s there for 30 years! 🙌🏻. He never admitted that he abused my daughter. He probably never will.

      • Most abusers will never admit what they have done, or the intentional motivation to harm others.

        They either enjoy harming others too much and lack any remorse, empathy etc. Or their lack of courage to face who they truly are, is too deep.

        Either way, 99% of abusers know what they do is wrong and they do it anyway. That is never okay, justifiable, or condonable.

        I support survivors of abuse in this understanding.

Leave a Reply

