Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Not sure I agree with refusing a visa to Chris Brown.



Chris Brown the singer, has been refused a visa to come to Australia. This is based on his conviction of domestic violence in 2009. I understand the reasons for wanting to refuse a visa, and this a legally okay.

I also understand domestic violence is a huge topic in Australia atm. Good, so it needs to be. Australia has far too much DV occurring and too often it is condoned, enabled, excused and a lot of victim blaming occurs. I am not in any way okay with any of that. A lot needs to change in Australia, to stop the levels of abuse, violence etc occurring and stop victim blaming.

I believe domestic violence is wrong, not excusable and needs to be taken very seriously, as far too many women and children are dying and being murdered at the hands of those committing domestic violence/abuse. (And yes, women can be abusers too, but so far this year in Australia, all DV murders have been women and children – at the hands of men).

But, this situation with Chris Brown, as far I can see, is a one time abuse situation. I have no idea whether he is remorseful, and whether he has worked on ensuring he is no longer the angry younger man he admits he was. I don’t know where he is at in changing into a decent man, with better morals, better character traits and therefore, I will not assume he is not a better man now, than he was then.

This was a one time incident. Terrible one yes. But, from all I can see, he has not repeated it. Should he be punished for the rest of his life for this one time incident? I believe not. If this was repeated ongoing abuse and he was clearly an unrepentant man, my view would be very different. And I am a survivor of domestic violence/abuse, as my ex husband was an abusive alcoholic and gambling addict, so I do have a voice in this matter.

I have repeatedly stated in counselling, I know people can really fuck up and do things that are very wrong, and have remorse, have regret, have shame about what they have done and want to change for the better. I want people who do wrong and harm others to seek help, have remorse and change for the better. I don’t condemn them to a life of punishment and any assumption they cannot change. Some people can change. Some people want to change. Some people can do something they truly do regret and want to be better than that.

It is behaviour over time and repeated behaviours and the attitude/heart that goes with it, that I take note of. So, in not knowing Chris Brown, or where he is at, I am unsure as to whether this decision to stop his visa if only based upon a one time incident, is fair. I suspect it may be unfair.

Although I am very aware I do not know all the circumstances about this situation.

And is this type of action in refusing visas, a consistent action taken against all perpetrators of abuse/violence? If it is not consistent, then again, this needs addressing.

I also see social media pointing to Australia being racist, and believing this is the issue behind refusing Browns’ visa. I have to say, considering those involved politically, I could not 100% state this may not be factor. Too many Australians can be very open in their racism. Again something else I do not like, condone or enable. It’s very wrong.

Update…… Apparently, Chris Browns’ attitude towards women has remained offensive and abusive – demonstrated within his work, since this conviction. That has all been taken into account regarding the visa. If this is true, this is sad and wrong, shows an unrepentant and non remorseful man, and I support the visa being denied.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “Not sure I agree with refusing a visa to Chris Brown.

  1. I am not familiar with the case, but your stance makes a lot of sense to me. Incidentally, you misspelled the word “angry.” Pretty much a definition of humanity (in part, of course) is someone with relatively high intelligence, who is capable of making mistakes (and, hopefully, learning from them). If you have never made any mistakes, you are either still in the womb…or a character in a Walt Disney feature. ; )

    • Yes, I believe in understanding people screw up and the need to take full responsibility for that and seek to learn, grow and do better. If Chris Brown has done that, he deserves the right to put that behind him and not be eternally punished. If he has remorse and has grown from this, and seeks to be a better man, I am pleased for him.

      Thank you for letting me know about any misspelling. I think I had already corrected it, but I do want to know if I have misspelled something, especially as my blogs are shared around the internet.

Leave a Reply

