Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Huge storm, hail…. all I was worried about was my plants!

Leave a comment

I think I am becoming a little obsessed with gardening. It is my joy, my distraction from life, people and PTSD, my mindfulness, my escape. Apparently, I have told this is perfectly okay. I guess if I am going to have a slightly obsessional need, it may as well be something as healthy as gardening.

Yesterday, we had a big storm arrive suddenly and I could see it coming over and managed to get my lettuce and tomatoes under the trampoline before the storm hit. The rain was torrential and hail was pounding down. All I could think of was ‘”nnnnnooooo…….my plants!!!”. Not concerned about our dodgy roof leaking yet again, or the roofs on the cars exposed and having hail damage. Nope, I didn’t care at all about them. Just my plants.

I would have been pretty upset if lots had been damaged. Especially as some of the plants have considerable personal meaning to me. I think it’s okay to be a little upset if that had happened.

I even joked on my personal facebook, about how pathetic I know it is that all I was worried about in the storm, was my plants. I can laugh at myself and how ‘weird’ I know I come across to others. I’m aware the ability to laugh at self, is maturity and EQ. Most things I can laugh at myself about. The appropriate things to find humour in. And I do.

My plants are tough. Most survived and with only a few casualties and broken flower stems etc. But, nothing significant was destroyed. Phew!

I love gardening and it is a real daily necessity in my life and is absolutely part of my healing and management of my PTSD.

I do really encourage people to find healthy pursuits to help deal with PTSD and the ongoing consequences of trauma. It really helps. And it is my heart for everyone to find healthy ways of coping, that bring some real joy into life.

(I wonder if insurance companies cover plants…. should there be damage in the future…. I will have to look into that😉 ).

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

