Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

So sad for Cathriona White. Her last few tweets were so telling.

Leave a comment

I am always so sad to hear someone has died by (apparent) suicide. Seeing Jim Carrey’s post – “a kind and delicate flower, too sensitive for this soil, for whom loving and being loved was all that sparkled”, made me emotional.

I see from Cathriona’s last tweets, some telling words. Wanting to be a light for others, whilst obviously in so much pain. The endless search in the desert, wanting the faeries to come and take her away. I don’t know her childhood, or her life story, or any mental health issues. But, I know there will be a story.

I understand on a certain level how this feels. I’m so sad she felt this pain, enough to want to end her life. But, I get it. I’m aware if it weren’t for my children, I would not be here.

Some people feel so deeply, see so much, think so deeply and it can be so overwhelming and so painful.

I am at a point of consistently knowing I have reasons to live, and not just for my children. It’s taken 44 years. I have found joy outside and away from people. I have dealt with and processed past trauma enough to manage the emotions and consequences of it, better. I am so thankful I have been able to do this.

But, I have such compassion for those who feel unable to continue living and feel the pain is too unbearable. Because I have been there. Many times. I know that pain and I truly wish no-one else ever had to feel it.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

