Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

WHO stated severe PTSD – equivalent of being a paraplegic. Severe Depression – quadriplegic. Both…


While watching Australian Q&A this week, about mental illness, the following was stated in response to why mental illness is not considered as debilitating as physical illness….

WHO – World Health Organisation have stated…

Having severe Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, is the equivalent of being paraplegic, and..

Having severe Depression, is the equivalent of being quadriplegic…

In terms of debilitating impact on life.

My thoughts go further, in stating Complex PTSD  – which is more debilitating than uncomplicated PTSD – there will be even further impact.

And for those who have these combined with severe depression, the impact can be even greater.

It is good to see mental illness being talked with much compassion, in a rational manner, where people are stepping up and confirming mental illness, is real and equivalent to physical illness, despite many people in society being unable or unwilling to accept this.

The stigma, ignorance and lack of education, are not valid any longer, as there is an abundance of research and information to educate people.

This also applies to the mental health industry, where stigma and ignorance also exists. And shaming also occurs.

I was also glad to see the issue of child abuse and child sex abuse having a huge impact on mental health throughout adulthood. And how tackling that, would impact greatly on mental health.

Program can be seen here http://www.abc.net.au/tv/qanda/txt/s4303400.htm

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

6 thoughts on “WHO stated severe PTSD – equivalent of being a paraplegic. Severe Depression – quadriplegic. Both…

  1. so why don’t they re label it ———-” “Aftermath of childhood abuse and neglect” Why keep stigmatizing the person ? Because it feels good to scapegoat people ! and NOT be accountable.

    • I see the issue is for those of us with diagnoses, to own them and for us not to feel any shame about having mental illness and speak up about how mental illness is *no different* to physical illness.
      I don’t care about the label, it doesn’t define me and is not all of who I am.
      I’m also advocating for people to change the language used about mental health… eg people are not bipolar, they have bipolar. I am not PTSD, I have PTSD.
      This is the approach needed to reduce stigma.
      This is why I spend so much time educating people with my website, this blog and my social media…. so it reduces ignorance about mental illness/health.
      The link for the Q&A panel talking about this, was really hopeful and really interesting. I definitely suggest watching it🙂❤

  2. so what idiot doctor diagnosed you with a so called mental illness ? what a bunch a crap. You are dealing with being hurt as a child. So this makes you mentally ill? what the heck are you buying into ? Look how successful you are and what you have accomplished ! Look at the doctors that validate You.!
    If I read one more time that you have a mental illness I am going away and Never coming back. You will be minus a sister at the other end of the world . So there.
    How about Owning how intelligent and caring, resourceful, intuitive, a go-getter !
    Not One Other person has a website like yours
    Good grief, there must be something in your water !
    I have a headache

    • I have been diagnosed with PTSD and Complex PTSD and I am not ashamed of it. At all.

      They are not all of who I am. I am many other things too, as you say❤

      I also have no shame about how I developed PTSD & Complex PTSD. It was caused by abuse and harm that were not in my control, or deserved.

      Removing stigma about mental health/illness, is about not being ashamed of it and speaking out about it and educating people. Showing society you are a functioning, valuable, intelligent person, who can make a positive difference in the world.

      That's what I try to do🙂

  3. Complex PTSD is an Injury not an illness.

    Many people and experts say all forms of PTSD are NOT illnesses but are injuries.

    Dr Phil has said that our psycological skin can have 3rd degree burns just like our physical skin can.

    Being paraplegic or quadriplegic are not illnesses. They’re injuries.

    I’m severely severely injured from child sexual abuse and other abuse.
    I’m not mentally ill.

    • Any mental health diagnosis, whether it be depression, bipolar, PTSD etc, regardless of how it was caused, is still a mental health illness, because the brain is impacted.
      One of the largest mental health organisations in the world NAMI – is National Alliance of Mental Illness, recognises PTSD/Complex PTSD as a mental illness/disorder, as do most mental health experts.
      The way to remove stigma, is to encourage people to see it as no different to physical health illness.
      We don’t shame people for having cancer, or other forms of physical illness, so we should not shame people for having mental health illness, regardless of how it was caused.
      Stigma will continue, unless this is faced.
      I am not ashamed of having a diagnosed mental health disorder, or ashamed of how that caused.
      And most mental health illness/issues/disorders, are caused by childhood issues, abuse and neglect.
      I am not going to shame people with depression, by saying ‘that’ is mental illness, but mine isn’t. When I know most forms of enduring depression and anxiety, are caused by issues in childhood.
      The reason ‘some’ are asking for PTSD to be called an injury (very unlikely to happen), is so combat VETS don’t feel ashamed, as they struggle to deal with their own diagnoses. This is about shame they feel about themselves, which I refuse to feel about myself.
      I choose to tackle this in a way that doesn’t shame anyone, with mental health issues.
      And that I believe, is the compassionate, wise path.❤

Leave a Reply

