Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Oppression thrives on superficiality

Leave a comment

I saw this mentioned on twitter and straight away I thought wow, yes indeed it does. I see superficial/shallow, everywhere. Shallow thinking, shallow lives, shallow pursuits, shallow activities, shallow beliefs. That’s where many people are at.

It does oppress anything deep and meaningful, wise and thought provoking. Those who wish to not ‘go there’ to anything deeper, will oppress. People will oppress their own lives, with an unwillingness to be anything but superficial.

Most people in life don’t want to think outside of their own bubble of needs and don’t want to think deeply. That’s humanity for you. That’s what leads to sheep like behaviours, unwise opinions/advice, overgeneralised quotes, and the mass of cognitively distorted thinking I see everywhere. This in many, is an unwillingness to; self reflect, consider whether own views are unhealthy, have self honesty, be wrong, challenge self, seek wise advice, grow, mature. It causes a lot of issues and harm in society.

People do not like to think. If one thinks, one must reach conclusions. Conclusions are not always pleasant. – Helen Keller

I see those who believe they are deep thinkers, and I know they aren’t. And those who have little self insight. I see a lot and thankfully I now know this is not me who is the issue. And to have that confirmed by people who think deeply, are not superficial, are not shallow, helps.

I know the very fact I challenge highly educated/experienced/intelligent/esteemed mental health professionals, on their thinking, and they confirm I am correct, supports my capacity for deep thinking.

I am many things…. superficial and shallow, I am not.

So, I will just keep doing my thing and putting out there my thoughts and views, knowing it will help those who need it. Those who are in a place to receive it. Those who are willing to challenge self.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

