Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

The ego, is a pesky critter, that prevents learning, growth, maturity.

Leave a comment

I see so clearly how many people are unteachable and have egos that need to be protected at all costs. They cannot face being ‘wrong’ and as such do not learn, grow or mature, until they face this issue.

Most adults think they know it all and whatever they are thinking, however they are behaving, must be okay. Little self reflection, little self honesty, little humility.

And this is why I feel like I am often with children/teenagers, in adult bodies. And that ego state, continues on, throughout adulthood for many people. I also see a lot of hurt inner children, walking around in adult bodies. Acting in bizarre ways, that reflect their inner pain, they often then project onto others.

I understand and see this clearly. The problem arises, in people then hurting others, whether intentionally or not. And I see how much that happens too.

I have unintentionally hurt people, but I also self reflect and come to see how I have, have self honesty, remorse, apologise and have a willingness to grow and change. Because I don’t let my ego rule. I have humility.

Most people I have been around in my life, do let their ego rule. They make excuses, or refuse to even see how they have hurt someone, may need to grow and change.

Many people don’t want to know/hear they may be wrong. Don’t want to know/hear their behaviours and thinking, are not healthy and can improve. Most people don’t want to mature. It’s too hard.

The ego defense just takes over. And they remain in an immature ego state, hurting others in the process, until they develop any self insight and willingness to self reflect.

I have compassion for people who are unwilling to grow and mature, but it makes me sad, because it causes harm.

I have healthy boundaries and keep in mind not to personalise their issues. but, it is a continual challenge to be around emotionally immature people, who don’t see a need to self reflect.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

