Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

The First Time, Ever I Saw Your Face ~ Roberta Flack

Leave a comment

The first 5 lines of this song, are for my children. I always think of them, and my deep love for them. And I will love them, until the end of time.

The rest of the song, with regard to a partner, I have no idea what that feels like. I’ve never had a relationship with a healthy man. And I’ve accepted I won’t. I’m married. And if I am ever not married, I doubt I will have another relationship with a man. There are some wounds too deep. I’ve accepted that too.

This song reduces me to tears, every time I listen to it.

I love Roberta Flack. The emotion in her voice, is incredible. Her talent is incredible.


The first time, ever I saw your face
I thought the sun rose in your eyes
And the moon and the stars
Were the gifts you gave
To the dark, and the endless skies

And the first time, ever I kissed your mouth
I felt the earth move in my hands
Like the trembling heart
Of a captive bird
That was there, at my command, my love

And the first time, ever I lay with you
I felt your heart so close to mine
And I knew our joy
Would fill the earth
And last, til the end of time, my love

The first time, ever I saw
Your face, your face
Your fa-ace, your face

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

