Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Lessons about who you support on social media.



Last year, I was supporting a person who claimed to be a survivor of paedophile abuse. I had connected with this person on Twitter and blogged about this person and shared many posts. Those blog posts have now been deleted.

More recently, it has come to light this person may in fact be a paedophile. And there are many on Twitter, sharing info that is deeply concerning.

And I am aware of the lengths paedophiles will go to, to access vulnerable people. I am aware of the depths of manipulation they go to, to groom people and how they can very successful and how driven they are at this. It was odd to me, this person used to tweet to known paedophiles, albeit to apparently let them know, he was ‘on to’ them. I don’t know if any of the accusations are correct, but it is enough info, to make me know to stay well away.

This person, plus all those involved in the continual bickering and abusive posting continually going on based in the UK, have all been blocked from my Twitter. I have better boundaries now, than to be involved.

It has made me think about what I post and to be very wary of posting and sharing social media posts, about individual people, who I do not know. And therefore, do not have any real awareness of who they really are.

Plus, there have been several more people I have supported, only to find they are frauds, or deeply disordered, untrustworthy, non genuine people, with very dodgy motivations. Or people just wanting to use my success, to promote themselves.

And I regret supporting them at all. Although, I don’t regret wanting to think good about people. That makes me a good person, just very naïve and someone needing to improve boundaries. And I have. I learn by my mistakes.

But, this is why I stick with posting my own info, and info from professionals.

It has been a lesson, in having greater discernment, and greater boundaries.

Many people on social media, are not what they seem. I know this just from seeing what people I personally know – post on social media, and the image they choose to project – I know being different to who they really are.

So why would I assume anyone I don’t actually know personally, is who they appear to be, on social media.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

4 thoughts on “Lessons about who you support on social media.

  1. Man I’m so Sorry because those people ruin it for us genuine ones. Hugs

Leave a Reply

