Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Glad to see a healthier Christian ‘middle ground’ view, about Halloween.

Leave a comment

My faith, is a part of my journey, And whilst I don’t force my faith on others and I help people regardless of their faith choices, or lack of…. Christian faith for me is vital.

As a Christian and a person who instinctively knows ‘dark stuff’ is not okay, I find Halloween yuck. And always have done. I’m not in to witchcraft, vampires, zombies, dead bodies etc. Or many of the other things celebrated for Halloween. I find it hard to deal with dark stuff that people seem to delight in. I’ve always been personally mildly repulsed by it.

But, I also see the fundamentalist church people’s view, is too far on one end of the continuum, and then celebrating it and delighting in dark stuff, is too far at the other continuum end. The polar ends of continuums, are often where all the cognitive distortion issues lie. I see that playing out all too often. Including in church people’s views.

So, to see a middle ground Christian approach to this, is good. I always know for many issues in life, the middle ground is where the healthy mindset lies.

I do allow my teenager to go trick or treating, but don’t make a big deal it. I don’t decorate my home in dark stuff and I see it for what kids see it as – a way to get lots of candy. I don’t put anymore emphasis on it, than that.

I really liked this from this post….


“So, find ways to go be light on Halloween! Have fun with your kids. Spend time with your family. Use the opportunity to interact with your neighbors and the other children in your neighborhood. Load up on enough free candy that you’ll be set until Christmas.”

I’m sure Jesus will be totally okay, with this.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

