Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Church went well. Far more than I anticipated.

Leave a comment

I don’t believe in many things being a coincidence. I believe fully in God’s pure love and power. Beyond anything I can comprehend.

Church today…. went really well. Friendly people. When we got there, the fellowship tea, coffee etc was happening and they have that between the end of the first service and the second more family friendly service. A few older people came and chatted with me, very friendly. I like older people.

Found out about the teenage youth group and a little about some of the people running that. One being a music teacher of a local high school. Spoke with another woman who is a youth leader, she seemed really nice. So we’ll rock up on Saturday, and drop my son off. My son is also into music and wanting to learn to play the guitar, so knowing a music teacher, is good. He is happy to be going there on Saturday.

During the very relaxed, easy going service – the Reverend spoke of N.T.Wright – who happens to be one of my favourite Christian authors/theologians, and knows 1st Century and historical context and it’s importance. The Reverend’s husband, is a big N/T/Wright fan too as he expressed to me. That was re-assuring for me to hear.

During the service, they talked about how they are welcoming and supporting two Syrian refugee families and as I voiced at the end of the service to the Reverend – my passion for social justice and compassion for refugees, I am now on the committee!  During the service, discussion of the further deaths of refugees boat people, and their plight, was spoken of and the need to help them. That was all good to hear and how they take a view of the wider community

The Reverend was welcoming, kind, caring, easy going and clearly into the deeper meaning of the Bible.


It was really lovely singing and joining in with prayer. My 6 year old happily went and did some craft in the children’s corner with an older lady. He was happy and I think he liked still being able to see me. He enjoyed decorating a paper plate lion, with the words ‘God saved Daniel’. The lady said she would have more stuff next week and she seemed so lovely.

It was their week for communion too and that felt very necessary and something I have really missed being able to participate in. Along with the joining in of prayer.

So far – it’s all good. Nothing flagged up as dodgy. The atmosphere and vibes were very friendly and relaxed. Just how Jesus would want a church.

Next week my husband can come too, as he was working today.

I also noted, my anxiety levels were pretty low. So that is a reflection of the vibes. Asked my children as we were leaving, what they thought and they were happy and positive.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

