Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Self care focus. Yoga & catching up with friends today.

Leave a comment

I just tweeted how there are 4 things I’ve learned are vital in this healing complex trauma journey. They are also vital in life in general for everyone…

  1. Boundaries (for self and with others)
  2. Balance (types of activities, focusses, not overwhelming myself, rest when needed)
  3. Self Care (healing, joyful stuff, all the strategies I have learned, health – both physical, mental, emotional, spiritual)
  4. Self Compassion (knowing I have endured so much I never should have endured & it’s needed to be real about it)

I have struggled, but forced myself to learn these and they are still a work in progress.

So, keeping this in mind, as I have to remind myself of every day… I am going to yoga by the beach this morning, and then catching up with the group of ladies I am enjoying getting to know.

I know I am likely to start building friendships at church, if we keep going. So I will approach that slowly and carefully too.

I’ve already posted stuff on Twitter and I will stay off there now the rest of the day.

Plus, my gardens are needing some attention too.

Self care is something I still have to be mindful of and focus on regularly. It can start slipping, easily.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

