Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Living an authentic life with integrity to your values and beliefs, is interesting.

Leave a comment

This week has been an interesting week. Emotionally draining for several reasons, all valid.

It’s also been a week, of seeing how different I am to many around me.

My social media has been flooded with Halloween and Melbourne Cup (horse racing) posts. I don’t celebrate either.

I have made choices to not indulge in horse racing, because I know the horses are treated badly (I’ve watched the documentaries and I see them being whipped). I don’t believe in horses being treated the way they are, for human pleasure, when it is not a requirement to live well. I also do not believe gambling is healthy, and I don’t wish to participate in that, or support the gambling industry. And I actually don’t understand how people can claim to be animal lovers, and indulge in horse racing.

I have bet on horses in the past, so I don’t feel it makes anyone ‘bad’, but I simply now choose to see the full situation and all the bigger picture consequences and not be involved any longer and haven’t for a few years.

Halloween, is something I also see is something I do not wish to be involved in, although I do clearly see people think it is just some fun. I do allow my teenage son to go trick or treating with his school friend to get candy, but choose to refrain from anything more than that. I do not feel comfortable celebrating dark stuff.

I know holding to my personal beliefs means I don’t follow along with some popular society activities, but my need to lead an authentic and more meaningful life, seeing the bigger picture issues, be more thoughtful….. is greater than my need to ‘fit in’.

I don’t voice my views on this to others in my life and I don’t comment on social media.

I just quietly remain with Integrity to my own values and do my own thing.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

