Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

I choose a life free of chaos and avoiding unnecessary stress.


I realise all too well, you cannot heal within chaos and stress. So wherever possible, this needs to be removed from your life. It is a choice to be made and the only person who can choose this, is self.

People often rationalise putting themselves within chaos and unhealthy relationships/environments. Especially when this is someone’s ‘normal’. When raised within a childhood of fear, stress, chaos – it is your normal. But, it is does not need to stay that way. It is a still a choice – as to what you expose yourself to. Including people, situations, environments.

The only person that can ensure I lead a life of non chaos and more peace….. is me. So this is my choice.

I believe this to be as vital to the healing process, when healing complex trauma.

So, I choose peace now wherever possible. I would rather have less people in my life, reduce social media interaction, be careful what activities I choose to be involved in and the people I choose to associate with.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

4 thoughts on “I choose a life free of chaos and avoiding unnecessary stress.

  1. Ditto, well said! At first that peace and quiet can make us uncomfortable, always feeling we have to be doing something to prove our worth to exist. Once you get used to it, it’s hard to leave it even when you have things to do.

  2. I have just come across this page and never realized that recently I “DO and HAVE” felt when things are quiet and peaceful that I feel very scared, uncomfortable and feel I need to find a way to prove my worth and even more, that I even exist!

    I am seriously struggling now in my healing process with CPTSD! My therapist of 20 years will be retiring next year, I am 54 have no family (grew up in foster care), struggled through my 30/40’s to survive still being abused by a set of old foster parents) and when they finally died I was ready to blossom, work seriously on my healing – than once again my life blew up. I have a rare neurodegenerative disease and have had to fight yet again that it was real, etc. I have no husband, no children, no family what so ever. I am on disability. I do have a few friends but as most people unless I fit into their schedules, I am on my own most of the year. I am scared and really want to have a chance in life just to be and hope that anyone really knows I exist and that I actually matter to someone else in this world! I know self worth, self love, etc. are very important but I still need people. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

