Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Being ‘religious’ has a negative effect on children’s EQ.



This study and it’s conclusions, doesn’t surprise me at all. The reason why – many adult religious people are uncaring, judgmental and lack empathy and that then clearly impacts the children they raise.

Two examples spring to mind, that many religious people hold onto with all their lack of empathy.

  1. Physical discipline – which is child abuse and domestic violence. Hardly conducive to raising caring children, at all. Children learn what are modelled and shown. If abused, they will often learn to be the same. Religious mind control demands that.
  2. Abusing LGBTIQ – in demanding it is sin, when it isn’t. Plus all the abuse that follows that. Hardly empathy, or compassion.

Both of these alone, are the issues of many religious church people. Absolute spiritual abuse, as well as emotional, mental, psychological abuse also.

They will of course argue with all their might, how these two issues alone, are required to be a good Christian. How far from the truth that is.

And then they raise equally un-empathic, judgmental, uncaring religious children, whilst hypocritically calling other people judgmental.

Bizarre, really.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “Being ‘religious’ has a negative effect on children’s EQ.

  1. The claim to be a Christian gets thrown around too much now a days. It makes me sad when I read passages like this that so accurately describe many of the religious idiots that unfortunately claim to be following Christ. I almost hate defining myself as Christian for the mere fact of linking myself to these religious people.
    Christ was a man who loved infinitely and unconditionally, and Whom showed in every way possible how to forgive our friends. That is a man I want to follow. I am a Christian and I follow Christ to learn how to love others. My religion is love. I practice love. I say practice because I am constantly learning how to love myself and others each day. It makes me so sad when I talk to members of my own family who believe that certain types of people are going to hell regardless of whether or not they believe on the life and death of Jesus.
    Those people are blind to the truth. They think that their own sin is less then their brothers, when Jesus clearly stated to get the plank out of your own eye before you get the splinter out of your brothers. I study compassion and peace. I strive to understand and embrace all people of all cultures with love. I agree that religious people are causing demise in this country. Thank you for sharing and I hope this will help someone.

  2. I first read of this a few days ago and being the son of a fundamentalist father who treated me like a barnyard animal way back in my youth I never thought of it like it has been presented by the article. I am truly the opposite because I ran away.. My gut told me too. I was running to save what was left of my soul. But boy do I remember and still pay the price. But at least now I understand more. It makes no sense to me why but then it make so much sense. Sick.

Leave a Reply

