Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Buddhism and karma, are abusive.



A Ph.D Psychologist confirming karma is magical thinking

@ http://www.logicallyfallacious.com/index.php/logical-fallacies/124-magical-thinking

From the above link…

“This describes how one who believes that they deserve bad fortune, will most likely experience it due to the confirmation bias and other self-fulfilling prophecy-like behaviour.  Yet there is no logical or rational basis behind the concept of Karma.

Tip: Magical thinking may be comforting at times, but reality is always what’s true.”

A lot of people believe in many things that are not rational and not truth. It may be soothing to believe something irrational, but it won’t lead to healing or wisdom. And it can be used in ways that are highly abusive.




Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

7 thoughts on “Buddhism and karma, are abusive.

  1. Yes, what kind of karma could cause a young child to be molested and then spend the rest of his life hating himself for it? Karma is up there with astrology as a stupid belief. Fuck karma. I didn’t deserve to be molested. And fuck Buddha too.

  2. Thankyou for this important reminder and how re traumatizing it must have been for you , so sorry to hear and it’s all too common unfortunately. Is there anyway to share this on my FB page Lily?

    • Yes, it was re-traumatising to hear this abusive belief. Thank you for understand that.

      To tell someone the child sexual abuse they endured was their own fault, due to the irrational belief of karma and some past life no-one can even prove existed, was cruel and totally lacking in compassion. Yet Buddhism is touted as ‘compassion’ all the time. So very wrong.

      What is your FB page name, can you link it here?

  3. Thank you for this. I have many symptoms of PTSD but on the surface I seem high functioning. I’m recovering from a different form of spiritual abuse, that of the new age. Karma is a big thing with new agers, and is very closely related to the “Law of Attraction.” Both schools of thought are notorious for victim blaming. I wish I could put a stop to it.

    It’s hard to explain to people how new age beliefs do so much damage; I turned to new age beliefs as a result of narcissistic abuse as a child. I abdicated my personal power to psychic frauds and hucksters of all kinds, and my life is a mess as a result. All I can do right now is vent on my blog. I get comments from new agers trying to rationalize their beliefs and demonize me as “low vibration” for calling them out. It’s so hideous.

Leave a Reply

