Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Someone else who understands the ‘New Cage Movement’ is harmful.

Leave a comment

I write and blog about beliefs and behaviours that I see are harmful. Not because I want to tell people they are wrong, or so I can be right. I write about it, purely because I see the deeper picture and the harm caused by certain beliefs. And the new age movement, is filtering into everything.

So much of new age beliefs/thinking, are not truth. And it harms people. It stops people healing. ‘That’ is the reason I write about it. Because I care. And when people are being lied to, and will remain not healing, it bothers me. Because I want everyone to heal any wounds they have. Emotional, mental, psychological wounds, need to heal. Or they continue to affect life in many ways. And that makes me so sad.

This is written so well.

“New Cage Movement: A term to describe the more ungrounded, dangerous and simplistic elements of  the New Age movement, including but not limited  to: wishful thinking mantras, spiritual bypass and premature forgiveness practices, superficial healing techniques, the perpetual denial of common sense  realities, and the insistence on inflated, fantastical

‘Everything is an illusion,’ ‘It’s all  perfect,’ ‘There are no victims,’ ‘Anger is a substandard  emotion,’ ‘Everything that happens is meant-to-be,’ ‘All judgments are bad,’ ‘You chose  your every experience and circumstance,’ ‘Your  personal identifications are inherently false,’ ‘Just  ask the universe for what you want…,’ ‘Everything you see and feel is a reflection of you,’ ‘There is no  one to blame,’ ‘The ego is the enemy,’ etc. These  perspectives have their place in certain circumstances,  but taken too far—as they often are—become a prison of their own making, locking humanity in with its unresolved pain, obstructed from doing the real work  by their addictive flights of fancy.

On a relational level, New Cage connections are often woundmates, priding themselves in their seeming spirituality, but actually falling apart at the seams—unboundaried, ungrounded and controlled by all the unresolved emotional material that they have sought to avoid. In their determined efforts to float above the fray, they  actually perpetuate and deepen their own suffering,  and miss the opportunity to do the real work to  become conscious together.

The key to escaping New Cage prison is developing a willingness to do the real  work to ground, embody and heal in authentic terms.  There are no substitutes for genuine, hard-earned  transformation.”

Jeff Brown @ https://www.facebook.com/SOULSHAPING/photos/a.432700530981.218622.156161230981/10153803630020982/?type=3&theater

(~an excerpt from my new book ‘Spiritual Graffiti’, now available)


I am so thankful when people understand what I see so clearly. I am thankful to Jeff Brown, for articulating this so well.

He has even touched on the ego issues of too many who follow this line of thinking. I see clearly the ‘superiority’ issues of people due to their beliefs.

I also understand the psychology issues involved. The cognitively distorted thinking involved. How ‘black and white’ their thinking can be. Choosing to view thinking that only applies in limited ways, and in limited circumstanced, they apply to everything. The ‘magical thinking’. The ‘avoidance’ they encourage, which never leads to healing. Plus, how these beliefs can be used to harm people/abuse people and that bothers me too.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

