Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

More ‘overgeneralising’ about the Colorado Springs murders.

Leave a comment


Robert Lewis Dear planned and intended to murder innocent people, at the Planned Parenthood centre in Colorado Springs. Including police officers.

And social media is now awash with anti-Christian hate. Apparently Dear claimed to be a Christian. A lot of people claim to be Christians and are not, by their very actions.

This man apparently appears to have a criminal history of violence and gun related crimes. If this is correct, then this would show a history of non Christian behaviours/attitudes. And these murdered are not Christian faith actions, either.

This man is a either a psychopath type, or has some kind of other mental health issues. Or is just evil. So I am not going to speculate, because I don’t know and neither does anyone else on social media. But, one thing I know for sure – Christians – even those opposed to abortion – would not consider these murders to be a true Christian behaviour. And most people identifying with being a Christian, would never commit any murder.

This cognitive distortion people love ‘overgeneralising’ and considering a whole group of people to be the same, based upon the actions of a few, is unhealthy and disordered thinking.

It’s the same when people overgeneralise and call all Muslim’s terrorists. When it is so clear to me that most people who identify with the Muslim religion, are not terrorists and do in fact not agree/support in any way – terrorist actions, just in the same most decent, law abiding, normal people, don’t.

It’s bizarre to me that people choose to overgeneralise in this way.

Despite all the abuse I have endured in my life, I have never overgeneralised that all men are abusers. I’ve never said all church people are abusers. Despite the actions of some men and some church people being highly abusive. Yes, I am careful around people, but my vigilance is about all people, not select groups. I don’t overgeneralise groups of people, as all abusers, all evil, all liars etc. Some are, not all.

There also seems to be this demand that Christians must openly ‘condemn this murderers actions, because he claimed to be a Christian.’ Why do real Christians have to comment – when his actions are nothing to do with the Christian faith.

Why do Muslim people have to openly condemn terrorist murderers, when it clear that is not about the Muslim faith either.

Yes, religion may be used as the scapegoat for the justification in murderers minds, but that is just their delusion, their twisting of faith, to suit their own biases, their own hatred issues, their own dark needs – to murder people.

As a Christian I do not ‘have’ to comment, condemn or anything else, about Robert Lewis Dear and his murders.

I do feel deep compassion for the victims, the families of those murdered. I feel compassion for all the trauma this has caused. That is what I am required of, as not only a Christian, but as a decent, empathic person.



Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

