Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Wise words by Jeff Brown, about being the ‘crazy one’.


It has been my experience that the one that families often call the “crazy one” is actually the sane one. This is particularly true in very dysfunctional families where ideas of healthy functioning are turned upside down.

In these families, members often repress their authentic feelings and turn against anyone who reminds them of their unresolved issues and patterns. As a result, the truth-speakers, the ones who refuse to contain their feelings, those who challenge and humanize the toxic status quo, are often scapegoated and vilified, made to feel crazy by those who lack the courage and insight to see beyond the family’s madness.

If you have been labeled the ‘crazy one’, take heart. You are truly not alone. Most great creators and paradigm shifters were met with fiery resistance by those afraid to grow.

Whatever you do, do not allow your voice to fade away in the face of their messaging. Your voice, your vision, your ways of being, live at the heart of your unique soul’s journey and are the key to collective transformation. No one has the right to bury them under a bushel of shame. No one!

And remember- what is crazy to an unconscious person is often brilliantly sane to one is awakening. Without you, we are lost. Blessed be the ‘crazy’ ones!

By Jeff Brown – https://www.facebook.com/SOULSHAPING/?fref=photo

This is so true of my dysfunctional family of origin. I was scapegoated, called crazy, blamed for everything. This was all a huge projection of themselves.

I am the only sane one. I am the only one with the courage and insight, to see the toxic and abusive souls I was surrounded by throughout my entire childhood.

I am the only one willing to speak the truth, even though it has nearly killed to have to confront the cold hard truth, of just how much abuse was occurring, and who was complicit in it.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “Wise words by Jeff Brown, about being the ‘crazy one’.

  1. Perfect timing. thank you

  2. wow so my experience. my therapist keeps telling me I am the only sane one but I look at myself and see someone who is on disability from the trauma, anxious, etc. No one speaks in my family. i have always tried to speak. Being labeled the sick one has made it really difficult. it’s hard and lonely.

Leave a Reply

