Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Decluttering my home, ready for a more organised 2016 :)


I’ve had more energy over the last month, which I think is a result of…  having processed so much in 2015 and the intense grieving starting to get easier. Combined with medication that helps me sleep, has stopped the hives, reduced physical pain and is a mild anti-depressant.

I’ve been de-cluttering my home over the week. Organising everything and giving the house a spring clean along the way.

Fullscreen capture 30122015 32344 PM.jpg

It has made me realise how un-organised my husband is. He is a ‘shove it somewhere, anywhere, out of sight – out of mind’ type. No organisation. He can never find anything he needs.

So now I have more energy, it’s back to me being the organised one. I’m taking control of our finances – to get them back to a reasonable state again. I’m organising the kids stuff. Moving things about to more appropriate places. Giving everything a place – so there’s no excuses to not put things where they should be. Cleaning out cupboards, chucking stuff out that is not being used. Donating some of the better stuff.

I’ve involved my boys and husband in this process, so they can see what organisation looks like, and they know where everything goes.

Next week, I’ve told my husband we are tackling his garage, which is full, with loads of crap we don’t need and nothing is organised. So we’re going to de-clutter and sort out all his tools etc. Have it tidied up and he will be able to actually find things. He is not impressed, but tough. He will think it’s better and be glad we did it, once it’s all done.

I’m ignoring all the huffing and puffing, eye rolling and groaning. From all 3 of them. I’m insisting it is all organised. Plus, it shows my children how to be organised and teaches them more valuable skills and mindset, they learn from me. I know the skills they learn as children and teenagers, will help prepare them better, as they go into adulthood. And I am teaching my husband these skills too.

We will go into 2016, with a de-cluttered, organised and more harmonious home🙂

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “Decluttering my home, ready for a more organised 2016 :)

  1. So glad you are feeling a little better! You have more energy than I do, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

