Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

A deeper capacity for discernment, is part of my journey.

Leave a comment

I am someone who thinks about the wider implications of the messages put out there, when it comes to trauma and abuse.

There are so many victim shaming, victim blaming and shame-shifting attitudes and messages. And I see many of them clearly, as I can discern more deeply than many. I have the capacity to work them out, why they are wrong, why they cause harm, and express this to others. Plus, I genuinely care about others and I have the capacity for empathy, which is not common.

I have the capacity to discern which messages/quotes/statements/beliefs, are platitudes, or overgeneralisations, or black and white attitudes, etc, and why they cause harm …. that many others fail to recognise.

I have the capacity to know when something does not feel right, and to not just ignore that. Then I can work out why. I’m aware this capacity is a skillset I needed to learn young, to survive complex trauma. I see many people in society have not needed to develop these deeper skills, so do not have this capacity. And not all complex trauma survivors develop this deeper capacity for discernment. So, I am aware this skillset, is uncommon.

It seem to be part of my journey, to use the deeper levels of discernment and wisdom I have, about e.g. shame and cognitive distortions, to help others. To validate their journey and to help people deal with the harm caused, often unintentionally, by others.

When dealing with severe trauma, complex trauma and mental health, it is necessary to have empathy and deeper discernment. And I see clearly the harm being caused, by those without these skills.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

