Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

I believe boys should play with dolls.

Leave a comment

I see many inappropriate attitudes, about boys not playing with dolls…. And how dolls are only for girls to play with. Hence why the doll aisles in toy shops, are predominantly pink. *sigh.

What are they scared of??? That their son will turn into a  ………. good father?

Maybe if there more boys being encouraged to be caring and gentle when they are children, it would better impact who they become when they are adults.

I don’t believe in gender specific toys/playing. I believe in gender neutral toys/playing.

I think the world might be a nicer place, if everyone thought like this too. And I am aware many child psychology & development experts, encourage the same thinking I have.

It makes perfect sense to me, and I believe it would lead to less abuse and less domestic violence.

It is such a bad start to a male child’s life, to be shamed for their natural desire for, and wanting to play with dolls. Such poor parenting to tell a child they are wrong for wanting to care for a doll, and learn how to be kind. Children learn so much from play and role play, and they also are affected by what they miss out on. I believe stopping boys from playing with dolls, is a form of neglect, albeit not intentional.

Boys need to be modelled and encouraged to be kind, gentle and loving. Not shamed.

boy with doll



Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

