Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

My children are back at school & I need the peace & quiet.

Leave a comment

My children started back at school today, after 6 weeks of the summer holidays. My children enjoyed their holidays. We did lots of great stuff, they had lots of fun, and some rest, which I believe is necessary.

I have enjoyed the school holidays too………. but I have also missed having regular peace and quiet during the day. I am aware not to feel guilty about this.

My children had a great school holidays and they need to go to school. And I have PTSD, so I have an increased need for time alone and avoiding stress. And even the increased noise of children – increases my PTSD symptoms. Which I managed really well, throughout the 6 weeks.

So today, I am trying to not to allow myself to feel guilty about enjoying the peace and quiet. I’m not going to tell myself that I am a bad mother, for being absolutely okay with my children being back in school.

I will not feel guilty.

I will try not to feel guilty.

I do feel a little guilty.

Okay… I will try to be okay with knowing on one level there is no need to feel guilty….. whilst acknowledging I still do a little. And this is something I need to work on, that takes time.

I will keep telling myself, I am not a bad mother, for being okay with my children being back in school, and enjoying the peace and quiet.

If I tell myself enough times………. I will hopefully truly believe it.

 

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

