Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Self compassion



Often complex trauma survivors, struggle with self compassion. Especially if the trauma was caused throughout childhood, by parents. I think childhood complex trauma survivors, often have an inner voice that says ‘if your own parents didn’t love you, then you must be unlovable and defective’.

And it takes a long time, for this message to change and a more healthy message, to develop.

To have self compassion, self care may seem really easy to most people. But, it can be a very hard journey, for those who never received love in childhood.

For me personally, self compassion, self care etc, are still hard to maintain and whenever life gets really hard and I become overwhelmed, they decline. And quickly. And then I will beat myself up for ‘failing’. Those harsh inner critic voices, that have plagued my life, are still there.

So, I’m trying to have self compassion and some self care. I’ve done some gardening today, and that has lifted my mood a little.

And anything positive, no matter how small, is a step in the right direction.


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “Self compassion

  1. I think thats one of my big issues as well, I can be compassionate towards others…but Im viscous towards myself.

    • Pete Walker talks about the inner and outer critic and this area of healing, is so hard.
      Like you, I am always more compassionate towards other people, than I am for myself.
      So, I do understand how hard this is, and I am aware that just because we know something intellectually, doesn’t mean we feel it emotionally.
      I think like much of what we deal with, it is part of our lifelong journey of healing.❤❤

Leave a Reply

