Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

A sense of humour, helps…. a parenting with PTSD nightmare!

Leave a comment

parenting recorder.jpg


Having PTSD, means I have noise sensitivity issues. I struggle with high pitched, repetitive & competing noise. It worsens throughout the day, and on bad days, this sensitivity, is severe.

Being a parent with PTSD, is not easy at all. Being a parent itself, is a tough gig for anyone. Having PTSD makes it harder. But, I manage it well and know when I am becoming overwhelmed and how to manage all the symptoms and stress.

I have never liked recorders. They have a horrible pitch/noise and listening to children attempting to play them and constantly making mistakes……. is a PTSD noise sensitivity nightmare!

I posted this meme to my personal facebook and a mother I know from my 6 year olds school, responded to say the kids leave the recorders in school. I replied “thank God for that, I hate recorders!”.

I forget sometimes, just how hard a gig parenting with PTSD is. I should give myself more self compassion about this. I am too hard on myself I think, when it comes to parenting, because I am so aware of how important childhood is, to the adult a child becomes. And I want all my children’s needs met. And I know the consequences, of a child not having a good enough childhood.

But, one thing I can have most of the time, is a sense of humour. Which I am aware, is emotional maturity. Some days, nothing is funny or humorous, but often I can see the humour in situations. It helps to get through this tough and emotional journey.

I think my life would have been even worse, without a sense of humour.



Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

