Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Wow, my counsellor refers to ‘mental health’ as the ‘dark side’.


I just started listening to a recorded conference talk, by my counsellor. It was for a youth ministry.

In it she talks about being a general doctor and being interested more in mental health, so referred to this as being a “family doctor, who then went to the dark side” … mental health.

Referring to all mental health as ‘the dark side’. Wow.

I can understand referring to some areas of mental health as the dark side…. like paedophiles, psychopaths, sociopaths etc.

But, ‘all’ mental health?

So having a disorder like Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, which is entirely caused by enduring severe trauma……… is being on ‘the dark side’.

It’s basically a church reference to evil.

So, everyone with mental health, is on the evil side.


I know a lot of church people believe all mental health is satanic and about evil, but I didn’t think my own counsellor believed this.

But, now I do.

I feel physically sick.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

11 thoughts on “Wow, my counsellor refers to ‘mental health’ as the ‘dark side’.

  1. I hope you feel sick enough Not to go Back to Her. abusive remark

  2. All one has to do is recognize how their environment, both internal and external, makes them feel. Do things make one feel yucky for existing?

    Then look elsewhere for nourishment. It is possible to love oneself, just as much as it’s possible to find a suitable environment that reflects who one truly is.


  3. That is a misnomer. Mental health simply refers to our state of mental being. Does your counselor differentiate between good mental health and bad? Where does one draw the line? Between not sharing and pasting on a smile? Or between sharing the muck and finding healing? I would ask her what she meant. Blessings! Always enjoy your blog!

  4. M. Scott Peck, in the People of the Lie discusses evil–people so evil they ignore the pain of others. Hope your counselor is not one of those.

    • Cherilyn, I love Scott Peck’s books. I read People of the Lie as a teen and it really was a great source of support for me.

    • I’ve read ‘People of the Lie’ and it is an amazing book. I’m very aware of how much people can ignore the suffering of others, and cause suffering in others, and enjoy it. Sadly, I have had far too much experience of suffering at the hands of such people.

      I’ve also come to realise, people will believe anything they want, to justify their own needs and thinking. No matter how wrong, bizarre, or unhealthy.

      Honesty, honest self insight and living in reality, are not common.

  5. Thank you everyone for your comments and support.

    I think I am in shock. I’ve listened to this recording and this comment many times now. Just to make sure I was hearing it right. I even got my husband to listen to it. And he stated it is really poor choice of words, and very hurtful for anyone dealing with mental health issues. Including anyone who was listening at the conference, who may be dealing with mental health issues.

    I would never have believed my counsellor would say something like that.

    And I think I’m pretty good at working people out. Clearly, I’m not.

    Just shows, you can’t trust anyone.

    I’m numb. Completely numb.

  6. Sorry to hear this and I would say it’s safe to assume that your counsellor that said such an awful ignorant thing is not well and does not have a healthy relationship with reality.

  7. I would encourage you Lily to be extra gentle with yourself because I am sure this incident has been retraumatizing to you . Also thanks for that reminder about how honest insight and living in reality are not common. I couldn’t agree more with you.

  8. She is not good. The worst abuses are through the church and people like her in her position. Most SRA is all coveted by the church. Wait till it all comes out about NWO. The vatican and pope aren’t going to be so popular. Wouldn’t surprise me if your counselor is involved if it’s the same one from last year. She’s a piece of work for a religious counselor. Sorry but so much is going to come out about religious abuse this year nobody will want to go to church anymore. I know i believe in the Bible now. And god has known the plan all along. He only wants us to believe in him. Not a place of worship. Worship him from your heart. That is where great healing and deliverance will come from. Not from any human being but from christ. She seems to have some dark side herself.

  9. Thank you everyone. I truly appreciate your kind and thoughtful messages❤❤

    I'm aware of the twisted beliefs many church people have. They abuse people continually by insinuating any mental illness is demonic. Some deny it, but it's what they think. Some are very vocal about and say terribly abusive things to abuse survivors and anyone with mental illness.

    Nothing surprises me anymore.

    I am never failed to be shocked by people's abusive attitudes.

    I feel like I am living in this bizarre world, with so many unhealthy and abusive people – and they either don't have any insight, or do and just don't care who they hurt.

Leave a Reply

