Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Life continually shows me, not to trust anyone.


I have very understandable trust issues. When you cannot trust your own parents, and you have been abused by so many people… people who you should have been able to trust…. you learn, not to trust.

I’m aware, I am supposed to learn how to trust…. slowly, carefully. Well, I’ve tried and yet again, been shown how trying to trust anyone, is a very risky pursuit, that never ends well.

I just accept that people cannot be trusted. It’s easier to just accept it, than keep fighting this issue.

trust no one lana

I just need to trust myself. Expect nothing from anyone, and you can never be betrayed, never be let down, never be hurt.

The quote is true. To expect people to be trustworthy, is not wise.

expectations shakespeare

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

8 thoughts on “Life continually shows me, not to trust anyone.

  1. I am right there with you, I feel exactly the same way and it deeply concerns me. I often worry I will never ever be able to trust anyone ever again.

    • I’m starting to understand, I can live my life, without needing to trust people. I can just trust myself, my own understanding.
      I think I’ve been searching for people to trust, to fill the gap where trusting parents/family should have been.
      I think the reality is, most people cannot be trusted to a high level & I need to be okay with that.
      I think trusting ourselves, is more important. ❤❤

  2. Yes good point , trusting ourselves is more important, but how do you learn to trust yourself always, when your relationship with yourself was destroyed/ sabotaged as a child?

    • I think we need lots of self compassion for our inner child. Our inner child did her/his best, with what we had, to keep us as safe as a child. It was never our responsibility as a child, to keep us safe. We deserved kindness, safety, trust with adults around us, compassion, love. If we didn’t receive those, the child we were, would struggle to stay safe.
      We didn’t have a normal childhood, we had behaviours and abuse we should never have endured, and we did our best.
      I was scared of my mother, I coped with freeze and fawn coping methods, because what I was enduring, was not normal. I am okay with needing to cope the way I did.
      I’m learning to trust myself, trust my inner child and have compassion for myself. And not tolerate any further harmful behaviours from those around me.
      I hope this makes sense? ❤❤

  3. I would think the need not to trust anybody becomes a necessity when one has been originally trusting too much. Realistically, there’s only one person who you should trust 100% and that’s you. I’ve learnt that the only person one should rely on is also him or herself. It’s also unfortunate, that sharing a lot of things on the internet can result in all kinds of painful experiences. There are things one should tell nobody. Period. Life is life and we shouldn’t believe everything we hear, read or even see. I feel sorry hearing that you cannot trust your family. Bad situation. I’m a very realistic person, I never expect too much, especially when it comes to other people, therefore, I cannot say, I have been disappointed a lot.

    • Thank you and yes, I do give warning to sharing on the internet and social media. I use a pen name here on my blog.
      I think some people do have relationships they can have a degree of trust to share their life struggles. But, I do give advice to make sure those relationships have been built slowly and only a little at a time shared, so the person concerned can prove over time, whether they are trustworthy.
      I agree, the only person that should be trusted 100%, is ourselves.❤

  4. Yes Lily your reply to my comment makes perfect sense, thankyou! I have the freeze /fawn response as well. It’s such a challenge for me to try to unlearn and get unstuck, I feel like I have literally been frozen for years.

Leave a Reply

