Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

They were not the ‘good old days of childhood’ for many.

Leave a comment

I see many quotes travelling social media…. about how their own childhoods, were the good old days of childhood. How they survived childhood in the 60’s and 70’s and childhood then, was better than a childhood now.

Well, my childhood was really fucked up. I grew up in the 70’s and my childhood was anything but ‘the good old days’.

Many children were being abused and neglected, but people didn’t talk as openly about it then, as they do now.

Abuse and neglect were hidden and kept as family secrets. There was no social media, to talk about it openly. There were few organisations to reach out to for help.

Abuse and neglect were far more easily perpetrated back in the ‘good old days’. It was easier to isolate and control victims, when there was less opportunity to seek help and reach out for support.

I was out all day playing….. and yet this was due to staying out of my mothers way, due to abuse and neglect.

I wandered around the streets near my home, where a paedophile lived, who abused me for years.

My home, my neighbourhood, my childhood, were not ever safe, not good, not fun and definitely not ‘the good old days’.

And I am very aware, many children were in the same situation as myself.

I realise when some people talk about their great childhoods, they are forgetting that not everyone’s childhood was the same. So they deem those days to be better than now, yet they are only basing that on their own experiences. They don’t consider what may have the issues other children were enduring and why those days were worse, than they are as a childhood now.





Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

