Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

The amount of spiritual abuse occurring, makes me so sad.

Leave a comment

Due to being someone who is very open about all the different types of abuse, I have endured… many feel comfortable in telling me about their abuse.

This includes spiritual abuse. Which often also involves emotional and psychological abuse. And for many – sexual abuse and child sexual abuse. And physical abuse.

The added spiritual abuse, where God, Jesus and the Bible are all twisted and abused, as part of the abuse…. it is yet another added layer of trauma.

spiritual abuse 2

Many spiritually abusive people – feel very entitled to abuse, by using their twisted perception of religion, to aid and further their abusive needs. They use it to rationalise what they are doing.

To tell a victim of abuse, they are being treated the way they are because that’s what God wants, or that’s what it says in the Bible, is very abusive and traumatic. To call victims demonic or suggest anything similar, is abuse. It adds layers of shame. It makes a victim feel that even God wants this suffering they are enduring. It affects people’s own perception of faith.

I see people who have been abused by religious people, turn away from their faith. I’ve seen survivors deem all religious people as abusive. I’ve had my own struggles and issues with my faith, which has not been helped by being spiritually abused. So I understand.

But, I do know, this has nothing to do with God. Or the Bible.

It’s abusive people twisting God and the Bible, to rationalise in their own dark minds, why what they are doing is okay and needed. They feel vindicated by cherry picking Bible verses and interpreting them wrongly, to validate their own dark needs. They often choose mind control, as a way of abusing people. They tell victims God will be angry with them. They demand forgiveness and shame shift – if this does not occur as they demand it. And many more ways to harm people. I could write a whole book on this.

I see a lot of spiritual abuse. I’ve had many people tell me of their experiences. I’ve heard their views on it, and how deeply it has affected them. I hear the pain they are in. I see how the failure of other church people to believe and help them, further worsens their faith in God and pushes them further away from God.

spiritual abuse


I do also know God has much compassion and understanding for victims of any abuse, and spiritual abuse. He understands why people get pushed away from Himself. He knows why. He sees it all.

A lot of scripture and religious attitudes – shame victims of abuse. I see it frequently. And it makes me really sad.

Which is why I write and share about this. To help those who are often rejected by church people, abused by church people. I know how it feels. And many victims have been abused by church people, in a far more traumatic depth, than I have been. But, the abuse I endured from church people, gives me insight into this and understanding of the pain it causes.

So, I will continue to always speak up. Because, every type of abuse, needs to be discussed and dealt with. Including spiritual abuse.

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

