Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Had to go to hospital yesterday.


I was suicidal yesterday, so I knew I had to go to the hospital.

Had to talk to 4 different people, the last one being a psychiatrist, who suggested I have follow up mental health services. People phoning me and a home visit.

He suggested I change my medications, as the one I’m on he feels isn’t strong enough. So advised me to go back on Mirtazapine and gave me a script for it.

I also have to go back to the hospital, on Thursday.

He was really nice to me, and told me how brave I am to be dealing with my severe childhood trauma, in counselling. And that many people don’t deal with it. But, whilst it feels horrendous now and that is normal, it is better to deal with it, for the future.

He also said it is normal  for it to all become overwhelming at times, especially when I also have issues going on at home, which I had also told him about.

Going to rest today, because I am exhausted.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

8 thoughts on “Had to go to hospital yesterday.

  1. I am sorry you are going thru this now

  2. Oh how exhausting for you and hope you are able to get the rest and support you so need.

    • Thank you, yes I am home resting. The mental health team will be phoning me today and following up.

      Just speaking to the psychiatrist yesterday helped, because he was really nice and said things that help. Like it is normal to feel this way at times. And that I did the right thing, seeking help.

      I hope it encourages others to seek help when overwhelmed.

  3. The psychiatrist was right, you ARE brave. I am so glad that you recognized that you needed to go to the hospital, that you went, and that you were met with compassion and support. That was so wise. Get plenty of rest, and keep on protecting yourself from that horrible sense of overwhelm. Reach out as much as you need to. And thanks for sharing this–as you say, it can help encourage others.

  4. That is great there is a mental health team checking in on you and all, I take it you aren’t in the U.S. where mental health is not a priority and one is often punished for seeking help. I am glad you live in a healthy community Lily and your courage is so inspiring to us all:)

    • Thank you❤

      Yes, mental health emergency services can be hit and miss, which is sad, because it can be the difference between life and death.

      Of the 4 people I spoke to yesterday, 3 were great and one was very inappropriate in her choice of words and attitude. I was thankful for the other 3 who were great.

      I always hope, that in sharing what's happening in my journey, others may relate and in this situation reach out for help when needed.

Leave a Reply

