Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Collage frame craft – creativity aids trauma healing :)


I have done enough research to know how creativity is beneficial to trauma survivors. I’ve been wanting to create collages of my boys, for some time. But, not given myself the time to do it. And I know I will benefit from creative activities, on a regular basis.

As the last few weeks have been so rough, emotional and painful… I decided this week – I need more of the self care I always encourage others to have. I am aware I do not always ‘practise what I preach’.

So, I decided today would be a crafty day. Dropped my son at school, and went to the shops. Wandered around the cheap shops for a decent collage frame and some crafty bits and pieces to decorate it.

My youngest son recently had his 7th Birthday and we went to the local zoo and I have lots of great photos. So went to get the photos printed.

The frame I chose is one of those pre-cut collage type frames. But, I intend doing crafty things to the mount and decorating inside the frame, and adding to the frame itself. So, it will not look like a pre-cut collage mount frame, when I’ve finished.

It has been such a tough few weeks, that going to the shops alone, was exhausting. I am emotionally, mentally and physically drained. But, I did get the photos developed I wanted to use and bought the frame and craft supplies.

I am normally a quick worker with my craft, scrapbooking, card making etc. But, I am clearly going to need to do this collage frame over several days. My energy levels are really low.

So, for today, I have supplies. I’ve rummaged through my scrapbooking stuff and dug out lots of stuff I can use. And I’ve picked the best photos for the collage. Tomorrow, I will start decorating the mount and choosing the embellishments to add to it.

Despite being knackered, I enjoyed today and I am looking forward to seeing the finished collage🙂




Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

5 thoughts on “Collage frame craft – creativity aids trauma healing :)

  1. I also enjoy arts and crafts as a form of therapy. Sometimes I put too many ideas on my plate for one day and am totally exhausted in the afternoons. I think exhaustion is one of the common symptoms for people with PTSD (maybe also for CPTSD). I love that you strengthen how important self care is to get rid of exhaustion. I forget it a lot when live is stressful, my kids are sick and so on. So I can relate when you say “I do not practice what I preach”. You know what came up for me when I read it: “But preaching is a good reminder of what we want to practice”. I found out for myself that blogging about healing (including self care) helps me to remember all the tools I learned about and to check in whether I used them recently. Please, do not beat up yourself – you are spreading so much love and support to other people – you are great!!! You will take care of yourself!

    • Thank you and yes, preaching to others due to our compassion for others, does act as a reminder that we need this too.

      I too have realised, I need to keep my creativity simple. If I complicate it, I get overwhelmed and then give up. So keeping it simple, is definitely needed.

      Exhaustion is a symptom of PTSD and Complex PTSD. Our brains have to work far harder than non PTSD brains. So we get mentally, emotionally and psychologically drained, quicker.

      And being a parent too, adds to that overwhelm and exhaustion.

      Lots of self care needed!


  2. I meant to write spreading!! Not dreading!

Leave a Reply

