Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.


Imagine how this would feel, in a country with no healthcare.

Leave a comment

When I was sat in the emergency hospital waiting room on Sunday…. knowing I had to be there to keep myself safe…. it came into my mind, what this would feel like with no health care?

I know the answer. I would be dead. The health care available where I live, has helped me to stay alive.

I’ve been to third world countries. I’ve seen the living conditions, the lack of healthcare, lack of education, lack of decent housing, lack of everything. A few years ago, I did a fair amount of research about Nepal. And the street children and orphanages. I learned from research the really high level of homeless women and the No1 cause of death, is suicide.

As I sat in the waiting room, of the really clean hospital, knowing I had just come from my decent car, and my decent home… I thought about how it would feel to be suicidal, somewhere like Nepal. I do understand why the suicide rate is so high. With the level of physical and mental health issues these desperately poor people are enduring, suicide would be an option I can see many would take. The complete lack of hope, help, support and enduring major health issues, would be horrendous.

I do complain about the health system here in this rich country I am blessed to live in. I complain mental health is not prioritised and there is a need to want this issues to improve. And I do believe this needs changing.

But, bottom line, I am so blessed. I have a very patient GP counsellor who bulk bills all my weekly appointments, so I don’t have to pay anything. I have access to crisis care at a hospital when needed. I have a great GP doctor, who takes care of my family’s general health care.

I mentioned all this at counselling and my counsellor has been to Nepal, and she too knows how much harder this would feel, somewhere like Nepal.

I am truly blessed and my family are too. And gratitude, is something I try to have and always wish to keep in mind.


So, I was glad I was able to think about this, even when at my lowest.

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

