Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Why are people so gullible?

Leave a comment

There is a lot in society people will believe, despite there being no rational basis to it. And I see people are so easily conned, by being gullible.

But, I think being gullible, is more than just being naïve and trusting people too much. It’s an incapacity to think things through. An unwillingness to find out whether this is truth, or not. And when the con concerned, fits into people’s belief systems, or validates themselves in some way, or feeds their obsessions, or plays with their insecurities….. people are more likely to believe something.

One example is the ‘super food’ movement (con). It’s being proven that the super foods hailed as higher in nutrition, are in fact not. And these foods are often more expensive, than other ‘non super foods’. It’s all been a big con, to get people to spend more money, on these ‘super foods’. And so many have fallen for it. I didn’t. All I saw was yet another fad.

Health and wellness, seems to be a big industry, where people are lied too, conned….. and so many fall for it. Food, diet, fitness industry …… all regularly infiltrated with lies and cons, and lining the pockets of those conning people. They play on people’s obsessions with health and fitness, body image issues, weight issues and many other general insecurities.

Me, well I just stick with the understanding, that a healthy balanced diet, limiting processed foods, moderate amount of exercise, is all that is required. But, for many, that isn’t ‘enough’….. they ‘need’ the latest fad. A bit like many people ‘need’ the latest fashions, the latest popular colour schemes for your home etc. I don’t need these.


With regard to health, diet and wellbeing, I do not cut out whole food groups, or spend money on super foods, or join up for the latest exercise craze being hailed as giving better fitness results. I know there is no wisdom in any of this.

I am not a gullible person. I am a cautious person, who thinks about things in depth. I am aware of the amount of conning that goes on in society. People may say that makes me ‘negative’. It’s not negativity….. it’s wisdom and not being gullible.

And why I am I writing about this……….. because I am someone who does not like seeing people conned. I don’t like people’s insecurities being used and manipulated, to make money. But, I am also aware, this is people’s choice, to be gullible, be conned and waste their money, time and focus.

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media


Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

Leave a Reply

