Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Thankful to see organisations like NAMI, agree with my views about ‘shaming’.



Fullscreen capture 22032016 90715 AM-001

I was so thankful, to see NAMI retweet this post and my comment I added to it.

I see a lot of ‘shaming’, about being both an abuse survivor and having mental illness. And a lot of stigma about both.

Fullscreen capture 22032016 65913 PM.jpg


The term ‘recovery’ (much used within the mental health industry) – implies there is an end goal, of being completely recovered. That is not the reality for many people. Some people can recover in full from PTSD, many will not. So this view, that we ‘should’ all recover in full………. is very unhelpful and shames those who do not.

Shaming people, occurs with the mental health industry. Professionals, clinicians etc…. can give this attitude that everyone can recover in full. Which is worrying to me, because it is not true. It shows a lack of insight to me, that is not okay.

Just because some people do recover in full, does not mean everyone can. And there should be NO shame in that. I do not agree with comparing journeys. I do not agree with being held up to comparison with the poster children of recovery. It shames people. This does NOT help people.

What I do encourage, is people seek finding help to learn to manage symptoms better, and heal as much as they can. And I don’t imply a timespan for this either. For some people, this is a lifelong journey, and that IS okay. No shame needed.

I live in reality and have empathy. I can see where shaming occurs and I am a voice about this. I see the pain it causes people. Assuming we should all recover in full, can become such a painful attitude for those who cannot recover in full, that they lose all hope. Some end their lives over this.

So, I advocate for empathy, not putting heavy burdens on people, not assuming a timespan for healing. And just having compassion. Not expectations.


All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

4 thoughts on “Thankful to see organisations like NAMI, agree with my views about ‘shaming’.

  1. Yes, And it keeps you from getting treatment. I Dont have haveva choice about my diagnosis…Its a constant battle

  2. just want you to know how much your blog has helped me. More than ANY therapist !!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. I agree. I don’t expect to every fully recover from CPTSD. The trauma was too prolonged and too severe. But I can do better and better. And I can learn self-care that doesn’t cure but cushions the pains.

    These same sorts of arguments are used for those with physical disabilities. People are constantly telling me about how to get better. I’m permanently disabled. I’m not going to ever be “normal” but I can do things to help my body hurt less and move more.

    I also find that a lot of the “positive thinking” memes about mental health end up being a victim blaming thing too, as if just thinking positive thoughts can make us better. Yeah, right.

    • I absolutely agree with all you have stated. It takes a level of insight many mental health professionals don’t even have – to understand this.

      I am so thankful you have this level of insight.

      The ‘positive thinking’ guru’s really irritate me. How dare they suggest that all it takes is thinking positively, to heal years/decades of severe trauma. So wrong and so lacking in any insight or empathy.

Leave a Reply

