Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

I am a controversial person. It’s good.


I am aware I am controversial. Because I have the capacity to think deeply about serious matters. I have the capacity for discernment. I can figure out why something feels wrong, shallow, a platitude, nonsense, a lie, unwise, shames people….. etc.

I have been told this is a gift. It is not common.

I don’t seek to be controversial, for the sake of it. I do it, to reach out to help people. I am okay with that.


I use this gift, to help others. It helps many. It irritates some people too, who don’t understand my thinking/viewpoint. And I have come to understand people often reject what they don’t understand. Rather than stop and think about it.

We discussed this is counselling, yesterday. Many people want people who fit in their box. In their level and capacity of thinking. In their belief systems. In their needs. And anyone who does not meet those self serving requirements, is not welcome. Is rejected.

It’s a point of my journey I am on, to see not many people will understand me. But, I do have a few people in my life, who ‘get me’. I’m okay with that.

One aspect of who I am, is someone willing to speak up about matters that I know and see harm others. It is why I am an anti-shaming advocate. I see abuse survivors and those with mental health issues, shamed and I see the damage this causes. My empathy and conscience depth, motivates me to write and speak out about this. This can be polarising for people. Either people love what I write, or they reject what I write.

My posts about ‘victim shaming’, ‘how self pity/sorrow is needed’ etc… are controversial. They are not what most of society are banging on about.

I am thankful my work helps those who understand my thoughts and gain something positive, like validation, someone who understands how they feel.

I am also at the point, that however people wish to view me, is not my concern.

my truth

If people ‘get me’ – that’s great.

If they don’t, they don’t. That’s okay.

I have accepted that those who have a deeper capacity for thoughts, processing etc.. and are not afraid to voice their thoughts, are always controversial.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.




Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

2 thoughts on “I am a controversial person. It’s good.

  1. Great to have such a clear, honest, gutsy voice out there. Love your blog.

Leave a Reply

