Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

Quotes, that show a lack of self insight & self honesty


I see so many unwise, dishonest quotes travelling social media. They truly are bizarre to me. All they show is a lack of self honesty and a lack of self insight.

This quote is one of them…

heart is pure

For any person to believe their heart is pure, is basically saying they are perfect. No-one is perfect. No-one is without thoughts that are not perfectly good. Everyone has thoughts, that are imperfect and no-one is ‘never’ selfish at some point.

It takes courage to admit this.

I absolutely agree, there is a continuum people are on, and too many people are too far up the selfish, self serving continuum………. and some are far less selfish, and far less self serving.

But, no-one is pure. No-one is perfect.

It is an unhealthy ego, that believes their heart is pure and not capable of improvement.

All this quote shows to me, is this black and white thinking issue, many people have. Where they believe in something absolutely and have little self insight, or self honesty.

~ Lilly Hope Lucario

All blogs written by Lilly Hope Lucario and subject to © Copyright Protected.

All rights reserved. No part of any entry/blog, may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the name of the author – Lilly Hope Lucario and a clear link back to this blog –  https://healingfromcomplextraumaandptsd.wordpress.com/

This includes adaptations in all forms of media.

Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

5 thoughts on “Quotes, that show a lack of self insight & self honesty

  1. Theres is an epidemic of stupid quotes on the internet, especially amongst bloggers. They almost always use black-and-white thinking, oversimplification of complex issues. At best they are a five-second feelgood moment. . They are way too easy to make and publish. Only one step removed from the “I can haz cheezburger” cat memes.
    I notice you are not immune from this epidemic yourself (“Keep Calm and Toughen Up” March 13, 2014 – for ptsd sufferers, really?). Mostly I like your blog, just watch out for those dumb quotes!

  2. Pretty damn spot on. I yelled “fuck off!” out of my driver’s window today – which is actually pretty rare for me, but hey, I have it in me. Oh, and I also thought about slapping the shit out of someone. And I’m not sorry for it.

    Accountability is really not that hard unless the ego wall is up. When I fuck up, I don’t mind admitting it, but only if I truly feel I messed up. I hate fakeness.

    • I recently screwed up by assuming something about my doctor/counsellor and I reacted badly, I was a bit of a bitch to her and did not handle the situation well at all. I quickly realised what I had done, felt great remorse, apologised several times and wrote a blog, detailing how I had fucked up.
      I could have continued making excuses, like I was triggered, fearful etc… which were reasons, but they were not excuses and I didn’t use them as excuses.
      I fucked up and I was wrong. And I fully admitted that. Publicly.
      It takes courage and honesty, to admit when we’ve fucked up.
      I wish everyone could.

Leave a Reply

