Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

A journey to healing from complex trauma.

“You need substantive editing” :)


It’s a good job I don’t have a fragile ego and can hear the truth, from those I know have good intentions.

The editor I have approached to help me with my book, has now confirmed (after looking through some of my blog), I need ‘substantive editing’.

This made me laugh. It amused me.

I have always said it is ‘what’ I write about that is my strength, not ‘how’ I write.

I think he chose to soften the potential blow a bit, by confirming he only helps with work he really believes in.

Whether I can afford this level of heavy editing, is the issue. So, we will see.



Author: Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am a survivor of complex and multiple trauma and abuse, who at the age of 40, began my healing journey. I am using my journey to recovery and healing, to help others, to help survivors feel less alone, validated, encouraged and to enable others to understand themselves more. Complex trauma, particularly from severe, prolonged childhood abuse, is profoundly life changing. Complex trauma produces complex adults. The journey to recovery is a painful, often lonely, emotional daily challenge and it is my aim to encourage others in their daily battle.

5 thoughts on ““You need substantive editing” :)

  1. I have been considering freelance editing and writing. If you end up looking for someone, I’d be happy to discuss it further.

  2. Ha ha ha!!! What a clown!! What he probably meant to say was, Your writing needs SUBSTANTIAL editing!!” I suggest you secure another editor.

  3. Be very careful that the editor doesn’t change the meaning of what you are trying to say. My dad found this to be a very big problem with the scientific papers he was writing.

Leave a Reply

